Welcome
Writing a Literature Review
Permissions
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 3.0 United States License
General Social Science Background/Context Sources
Sociology and Multi-Subject Background Resources
- SAGE Explorer This link opens in a new windowSAGE Explorer includes over 40,000 cases, videos, data, and more related to social and behavioral sciences.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes a topic finder for help with narrowing or broadening your research topic. Coverage: varies
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes subject trees, pro/con resources, links to scholarly articles and more.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of reference books in many subjects. Books can be searched together or individually. Coverage: varies
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowContains reports and analysis on issues in the news including health, social trends and issues, criminal justice, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Great resource for background information on current news, hot topics, and social issues. Coverage back to 1923. Coverage: 1991-
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations. A starting point for any kind of country research. Coverage: Details not available
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Sociology This link opens in a new windowOffers authoritative research guides that combine features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia. Subjects covered include sociological theories, sociology of gender and sexuality, race, ethnicity, contemporary societal issues, key researchers in the field, and more.
Library of Congress Call Numbers
Hs represent the Social Sciences in the Library of Congress call number system. Below are some more specifics about call numbers that might be helpful. Hs are located in the Reynolds wing of the ZSR Library, on the 8th floor.
H -- Social sciences (General)
1-99.......Social Sciences (General)
HA -- Statistics
1-4737.......Statistics
29-32.......Theory and method of social science statistics
36-37.......Statistical services. Statistical bureaus
38-39.......Registration of vital events. Vital records
154-4737.......Statistical data
154-155.......Universal statistics
175-473.......By region or country
HB -- Economic theory; Demography
HC -- Economic history and conditions
10-1085.......Economic history and conditions
79...........Special topics (Including air pollution, automation, consumer demand, famines, flow of funds, etc.)
92...........Economic geography of the oceans (General)
94-1085......By region or country
HD -- Industries; Land use; Labor
HE -- Transportation and communications
HF -- Commerce
HG -- Finance
HJ -- Public finance
HM -- Sociology (General)
HN -- Social history and conditions; Social problems; Social reform
1-995........Social history and conditions. Social problems. Social reform
30-39........The church and social problems
41-46........Community centers. Social centers
50-995........By region or country
HQ -- The family; Marriage; Woman; Sexuality
HS -- Societies: secret, benevolent, etc.
HT -- Communities; Classes; Races
HV -- Social pathology; Social and public welfare; Criminology
HX -- Socialism; Communism; Anarchism
1-970.9.......Socialism. Communism. Anarchism
519-550...........Communism/socialism in relation to special topics
626-696...........Communism: Utopian socialism, collective settlements
806-811...........Utopias. The ideal state
821-970.9.........Anarchism
Subject Guide
