Get What You Need
If ZSR doesn't have it, Interlibrary Loan can get it. We get books, articles, and other materials from libraries across the country. Interlibrary Loan is provided free of charge to WFU faculty, students, and staff.
DOI Resolver
Do you have the DOI (direct object identifier) for the resource (article, book chapter, or book) and need to locate it online? Resolve the DOI name at https://www.doi.org/ and it will take you directly to the the current URL.
Other Sources
Sources that do not undergo a "peer review" process are not typically considered as an academic resources are listed below... They can however be used as a starting point for your research. Be sure to verify any information obtained from these resources using reliable library sources.
- Wikipedia
- Newspaper/magazine articles
Intro to databases
These database sources are your best bets for finding health and exercise science related literature. Click on any link to take you directly to the database homepage.
Sources
- ZSR Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowData about the books, journals, films, manuscripts, and other materials owned by the ZSR Library. Coverage: 14th century-
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitation database with access to MEDLINE covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. Coverage: 1946-
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new windowCitations and some abstracts from periodicals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, research papers, etc. covering the areas of sports, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Access is limited to four simultaneous users. Coverage: 1830-
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowContains three ISI Citation Databases (Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index), plus Biological Abstracts, Emerging Sources Citation Index, MEDLINE (PubMed), and the SciELO Citation Index. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage: 1945-
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive online medical education resource. Includes reference tools, images, a diagnostic tool, drug & patient information, textbooks, cases, videos, and self-assessment for medical students.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowProvides broad content and high volume of full texts for nursing and allied health research. Specialties include ambulatory care, occupational therapy, pediatrics, psychiatry, nuclear medicine, gerontology, and more. Resources include quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments tools.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes Biochemistry and Biology, Business & Management, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Mathematics & Computer science, Medicine & Pharmacology, Neurosciences, Physics, Social Sciences. Coverage: varies
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowAbstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Areas of focus include science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowMultipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. All articles are indexed using Elsevier's Life Science Thesaurus, Embase Indexing, and Emtree.
- BioOne This link opens in a new windowBiological journals covering biology, ecology, and environment with specific emphasis on systematics, botany, mammalogy, plant science, conservation biology, toxicology, agronomy, ornithology, limnology, and taxonomy. Coverage: 2000-
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIncludes citations & abstracts from international life sciences journals. Fields covered include: biology, botany, zoology, biotechnology, and environmental studies. Coverage: 1980-
- ProQuest Biological Science Database This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text journals covering biology topics. Coverage: 1998-
Librarian
HES Journals via BrowZine
BrowZine allows you to browse recent issues of scholarly journals on the web, iOS, and Android. If you have a favorite journal, it's a great way to keep up-to-date with the latest research and news.