Scholarly Article Databases
Article databases will help you identify scholarly articles on your topic of interest. They can also be a great way to browse the most recent scholarship on a particular topic.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago. Artstor images are now integrated into JSTOR. Supported in part by the Dail Endowment Fund. Coverage: Varies
Using the "Historical Period" Feature in Historical Abstracts
One of the benefits of using a database built for your discipline is that it often has specialized features to make searching a little easier. Historical Abstracts has a feature called "Historical Period" which allows you to search for articles that address a particular time period. Note that this is different from the Date feature in most databases, which allows you to limit by publication date.
You can find this feature on the main search page, by scrolling down below the search boxes:
Note that this date range is inclusive, so if the historical period of the article overlaps with your date range at all (even by one year) then the article will appear in your results. You may want to alter your search terms or date range to account for this.