Research Guides: HST 114/WGS 214: Gender & Sexuality in World History: Primary Source Collections

Primary Source Collections

Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
HIV/AIDS Epidemic Archive (UCSF)
Multiple digitized collections that provide insight into the history of the HIV/AIDS epidemic in San Francisco and surrounding areas.
International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture examines diversity in underrepresented areas of the world such as southern Africa and Australia, highlighting cultural and social histories, struggles for rights and freedoms, explorations of sexuality, and organizations and key figures in LGBTQ history.
LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups, the documents in the Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond.
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides coverage of the development, culture, and society of LGBTQ groups in the latter half of the twentieth century.

LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to many of the most influential, longest-running serial publications covering LGBT interests, including The Advocate and Gay Times. Coverage: 1954-2015
Women and Social Movements: Development and the Global South, 1919 to 2019 This link opens in a new window
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. Coverage: 1919-2019
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 to 2000 This link opens in a new window
Includes primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools, all documenting the multiplicity of women’s activism in public life. Also includes a searchable online edition of the highly respected research tool "Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary" (5 volumes, 1971–2004), fully integrated into the broader Women & Social Movements database.