Reference Sources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes subject trees, pro/con resources, links to scholarly articles and more.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes a topic finder for help with narrowing or broadening your research topic. Coverage: varies
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes a collection of scholarly handbooks in History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Great starting point for background research.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable full text of reference books in many subjects. Books can be searched together or individually. Coverage: varies
- Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new windowTopically focused collections of essays that seek to provide comprehensive analysis of major events, peoples, and ideas in world history.
BIBLIOGRAPHIES
These are authoritative, scholar-developed research guides covering a variety of subject areas. They combine features of an annotated bibliography and a subject encyclopedia, guiding researchers to the best available scholarship on the topic, as well as related primary sources.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
SELECTED TITLES
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North AfricaCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 0028657691Publication Date: 2004
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780195305135Publication Date: 2009- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World: Digital Collection byCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780197669419Publication Date: 2022The Digital Collection represents an online expansion of the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, featuring articles previously published on Oxford Islamic Studies Online.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780199764464Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Women and Islamic Cultures (Set Volumes 1-6) by Call Number: REF HQ1170 .E53 2003ISBN: 9789004132474Publication Date: 2007
Middle East Conflicts from Ancient Egypt to the 21st Century: An Encyclopedia and Document Collection [4 Volumes] by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781440853531Publication Date: 2019
The Encyclopedia of the Arab-Israeli Conflict by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781851098415Publication Date: 2008-05-12
