Topically-focused digital collections of primary, unpublished historical documents drawn from institutional and governmental sources and private collections. Broad topic clusters include: African American studies; American Indian studies; Asian studies; British history; Holocaust studies; LGBT studies; Latin American and Caribbean studies; Middle East studies; political science; religious studies; women's studies; and more.

Provides full-text, image level access to historical periodicals from colonial and early American history. ZSR has purchased: The Virginia Gazette, South Carolina Newspapers, and The Pennsylvania Gazette.

Search the full text of newspapers published by or for African Americans between 1827-1998 to gain insights into African American history, culture, and daily life. Includes page images. Coverage: 1827-1998

Search the full text of newspapers published by or for African Americans between 1835-1956 to gain insights into African American history, culture, and daily life. Includes page images. Coverage: 1835-1956

Search the full text of periodicals published by or about African Americans to gain insights into African American history, society, and culture. Coverage: 1825-1995

Provides searchable, full page image digital access to newspapers published in the Caribbean region during the 18th and 19th century. Includes titles published in English, Spanish, French, and Danish. Coverage: 1718-1876

Provides access to all volumes of the CO 5 series from the UK National Archives, which consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies.

Provides access to the entire Ebony Magazine archive from 1945-2014. Browse issues or search across the entire archive, including images and advertisements. Coverage: 1945-2014

Provides access to the entire JET Magazine archive from 1951-2014. Browse issues or search across the entire archive, including images and advertisements. Coverage: 1951-2014

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Coverage: 1750-1900

A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century. Includes over 10,000 poems by around 70 poets, including Rita Dove, Robert Hayden, Sherley Anne Williams, Bob Kaufman, and Langston Hughes. Coverage: 1901-2000

Archive of video oral histories from both well-known and unsung African Americans from diverse backgrounds. Search by name, area of influence, birth state, or by broad topic. All videos include full-text searchable transcripts.

Provides hundreds of millions of pages of law and law-adjacent periodicals, essential government documents (federal, state, and international), international resources, case law, and more. Includes Civil Rights and Social Justice, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, and more.

Access to primary and secondary source documents from 1490-2007 that allow researchers to examine the history of slavery, abolition and social justice in America, the Caribbean, Brazil and Cuba along with material examining European, Islamic and African involvement in the slave trade. Coverage: 1490-2007

Provides access to petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867. Coverage: 1775-1867

Documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain's New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade. Coverage: 1636-1880

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through a range of primary source materials. Coverage: 1863-1986

Records of the National Negro Business League founded by Booker T. Washington in 1900. Coverage: 1901-1928

Includes the writings and statements of the Revolutionary Action Movement (RAM) and its leaders. It also covers organizations that evolved from or were influenced by RAM and persons that had close ties to RAM. Coverage: 1962-1999

Contains Justice Department and FBI files on a wide range of African American organizations, people, and activities from 1928-1984. Includes Malcom X, W.E.B. Dubois, NAACP, and more. Coverage: 1920-1984

The Civil Rights Congress (CRC) was formed in 1946 by a merger of three groups with ties to the Communist Party: the International Labor Defense, the National Negro Congress, and the National Federation for Constitutional Liberties. The records in this collection represent the files of the national office of the CRC, including case files, publications, correspondence, etc. Coverage: 1946-1955

Provides hundreds of millions of pages of law and law-adjacent periodicals, essential government documents (federal, state, and international), international resources, case law, and more. Includes Civil Rights and Social Justice, Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law, and more.

Primary sources related to James Meredith enrollment at the University of Missisippi in 1962, including FBI documents, correspondence with the NAACP, and letters he received from people around the world in response. Coverage: 1961-1962

ProQuest History Vault is a collection of digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. ZSR Library provides access to the following modules: NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in 19th Century America (1636-1880); Slavery and the Law (1775-1867); Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records.

This collection provides documentation collected by the FBI and chronicles the activities of the social movement organization The Republic of New Afrika (RNA), including activities of national and local leaders, power struggles within the organization, its growing militancy, and its affiliations with other Black militant organizations. Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Headquarters Library. Coverage: 1968-1980

Contains clippings, correspondence, James Jackson's lectures, research notebooks, speeches, and writings (published and unpublished), internal documents pertaining to the Southern Negro Youth Congress and to Freedomways, materials pertaining to the Smith Act indictments of Jackson and other communists, Communist Party internal documents, and memorabilia and other biographical materials. Source Library: Tamiment Library and Robert F. Wagner Archives, Elmer Holmes Bobst Library, New York University. Coverage: 1932-2000

Freedom Riders rode interstate buses into the segregated South to test the U.S. Supreme Court decision in Boynton v. Virginia, which outlawed racial segregation in terminals serving buses that crossed state lines. The Freedom Rides bolstered the credibility of the Civil Rights Movement and called national attention to violent disregard for the law in the southern United States. Source Library: Federal Bureau of Investigation Library. Coverage: 1961