Welcome
This research guide is designed for students doing research on China-US Relations. If you run into any problems, or need more assistance, don't hesitate to contact me or to request a personal research session. ~ Rosalind Tedford
News Sources
- World Politics ReviewGlobal news stories and analysis.
Primary Sources in American Politics
China-Specific Primary Sources
- British Foreign Office Files for China (1919-1980) This link opens in a new windowContains diplomatic dispatches, letters, and more that circulated between The British Foreign Office in London and British embassies and consulates in China, Taiwan, and Hong Kong between 1919 and 1980. Coverage: 1919-1980
- China, America and the Pacific This link opens in a new windowProvides access to primary sources documenting the cultural and trading relationships that emerged between America, China and the Pacific region between the 18th and 20th centuries.
- China: Culture and Society This link opens in a new windowProvides digitized, full-text access to pamphlets published between c. 1750 and 1929, mostly in English, that address such issues as foreign relations and diplomacy, the Chinese Diaspora, missionaries and Christianity, and more. Also includes some secondary source material. Coverage: 1750-1929
- China: Trade, Politics and Culture 1793-1980 This link opens in a new windowAccess primary sources from nine archives in the UK, New Zealand, and the US to give insight into the changes in China during this period. Covers the time period from the earliest English embassy to the birth and early years of the People's Republic. Coverage: 1793-1980
- Chinese Civil War And US-China Relations: Records Of US State Dept Office Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955 This link opens in a new windowContains documents from the US State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs from 1945-1955. Provides insight into the domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period. Coverage: 1945-1955
- Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993 This link opens in a new windowThis digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China’s human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990. Source Library: George H.W. Bush Presidential Library. Coverage: 1989-1993
- North China Herald Online This link opens in a new windowFrom BrillOnline Primary Sources, The North China Herald was published in Shanghai from around 1850 to the 1940s. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and for announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council. It also features translations of Chinese official notifications and news. Coverage: 1850-1940
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chinese Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProvides access to 12 English-language Chinese newspapers published between 1832-1953, including North China Herald (1850-1941); Canton Times (1919-1920); China Critic (1939-1946); The China Press (1925-1938); China Weekly Review (1917-1953); Chinese Recorder (1868-1940); Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Peking Daily News (1914-1917); Peking Gazette (1915-1917); Peking Leader (1918-1919); Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921); Shanghai Times (1914-1921). Full-image access includes articles, advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and more.
American Primary Sources
- American Presidency ProjectFull text of a wide variety of presidential documents including speeches, letters, radio addresses, press releases and more.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowAll things Congress- full text of: federal bills and laws (1776-present); voting records (1987-present); U.S. Serial Set and American State Papers (1817-present); published and unpublished Congressional hearings from (1824 to present); Congressional Record (1873-present) and its predecessor publications (1789-1873); Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present). Coverage: 1789-present
- Legislative Insight This link opens in a new windowLegislative histories, including complete text of enacted laws and the full text of associated congressional documents (Congressional Record excerpts, committee hearings, etc.). Coverage: 1929-2012
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowProvides hundreds of millions of pages of law and law-adjacent periodicals, essential government documents (federal, state, and international), international resources, case law, and more. Coverage: 1776-
Background Information Sourcs
If you need somewhere to begin your research, here are some of the best bets for finding context for your research topic!
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOverviews of research and trends and background information in the Social Sciences and Humanities. WFU access includes the following subject collections: Asian Studies; Communication, Journalism, Media & Culture; Environment & Sustainability; Law; Philosophy; Politics; Religion; Security Studies; and Sociology.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes a collection of scholarly handbooks in History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Great starting point for background research.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Political Science This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative, scholar-developed research guides covering a variety of subject areas. They combine features of an annotated bibliography and a subject encyclopedia, guiding researchers to the best available scholarship on the topic.
Scholarly Journal Databases in Political Science (and related disciplines)
The databases below are the ones most frequently used by students doing political science research. The list starts with the politics-specific databases but also lists the many databases we have in related disciplines that often contain relevant sources. Politics is a very interdisciplinary thing, so looking at other databases is often very useful!
Databases for General International Politics and Government
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, full-text doctoral dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. This link cross searches ProQuest Political Science Database, PAIS Index, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage: 1985-
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals including international law and policy.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
Databases for International Military and Security Issues
- ProQuest Military Database This link opens in a new windowThe Military Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full text from military and general interest publications including government offices, journals, think tanks and more. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. Coverage: 1985-
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFocused on strategy and policy in the various subject areas of homeland security research. Sources of information include governmental departments and agencies, academic institutions, think tanks, conference sites, non-governmental organizations, institutes and organizations, and other entities. Coverage: Details not available
- JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new windowContains journals, ebooks, and Open Access research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
Databases for International Policy and Issues
- Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowFor political communication, Internet and/or Social Media, news, rhetoric and more.
- Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new windowprovides access to current full text and backfile content covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship. Coverage: 1992-
- Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new windowFor criminal justice, incarceration, international criminal justice, etc.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowFor international economic research, political economy, foreign aid and development, etc.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental policy, climate change, climate refugees, climate treaties, climate and trade, etc.
- ProQuest Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
Video Resources
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection of award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Coverage: Details not available
- Films on Demand - Master Academic Package This link opens in a new windowContains videos in business, economics, health, medicine, humanities, social sciences, science and mathematics. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowThis streaming video collection provides a range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. Covers subjects from science, history, art, Shakespeare, diversity, business & economics, and more.
- Kanopy Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video platform for libraries that offers films, TV shows, and documentaries across mutliple subject areas.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowAcademic streaming library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more. ZSR subscribes to the 1000 most popular titles and has licensed a few others for campus.
