It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Topic: Sustainability & Innovation : Home
This guide provides recommendations for researching original, innovative approaches to sustainability on campus and beyond.
Explore these websites and ZSR resources below to help conduct background research as well as inspire, direct, and provide context for the development of your research question and approach.
While some of these ideas and links are specific to the University of Leeds community in the United Kingdom, this comprehensive research guide provides ideas and inspiration that may also serve to inspire your own unique research.
Developed by Librarian Jonathan Carlson at the College of Saint Benedict & Saint John's University in Minnesota, this guide provides same research ideas that, while specific to the CSB & SJU community, could provide inspiration for your own unique idea and context.
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
New research on environmental sustainability from Harvard Business School faculty on issues including the role of companies to mitigate climate change, corporate social responsibility, reporting to stakeholders, government relations and development of Chief Sustainability Officers.
The Office of Sustainability facilitates the integration of sustainability at all levels of the university, from students to the highest levels of the administration. Office staff and interns work with local and regional community representatives to develop synergies between Wake Forest’s sustainability programs and those larger communities.
The National Wildlife Federation’s higher education program develops and supports the next generation of environmental leaders by working with colleges and universities to protect wildlife and habitat on campus, and improve green educational programming, and implement on-site initiatives that provide students the knowledge and skills needed to be the leaders of tomorrow. Check out the "Resource Center" for reports and articles.
Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) empowers learners of all ages with the knowledge, skills, values and attitudes to address the interconnected global challenges we are facing, including climate change, environmental degradation, loss of biodiversity, poverty and inequality.
Covers aspects of human impact to the environment. Includes scholarly, government and general-interest titles on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Indexing and abstracts, with some full text.
Limited specifically to the Social Sciences, citation searching within this database allows a researcher to use a given work as a subject term in order to identify more recent articles about the same topic.
CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment (Columbia University).
EPA has Regional offices that have a responsibility to oversee the execution of EPA programs within several states and territories, and partners with state and local government. Many resources listed here allow you to search by zip code for local data.
Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
With Data Planet, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources.
The North Carolina State Center for Health Statistics is responsible for data collection, health-related research, production of reports and maintenance of a comprehensive collection of health statistics in North Carolina.
Using any of the search terms below in combination with other terms like "higher education" or other specific context can help illuminate research related to your idea in any of the article databases and resources highlighted on this guide. Use these terms to help you brainstorm other relevant search terms.
Note: Truncation symbols are often used in databases. When you use the * symbol at the end of sustain* for example, results will contain alternative endings such as sustain, sustainable, sustainability. When you use double quotes " ", results will look for the exact phrase.