Research Guides: MSBA Practicum Project: Resources

Company & Industry

It is always best to first review the Company's website!

Questions to help you generate search terms:

How would you describe what industry your company is in?
How would you describe the product/service the company is selling?
How would you describe the target customer?
What are some key words or phrases that jump put to you related to the problem or question you are working on?

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides extensive reports on 300 industries and numerous companies. Includes size, trends, market share, descriptions of key participants and more. Coverage: Details not available
Nexis Dossier This link opens in a new window
Located in the "Menu" dropdown box and listed as "Company Dossier." Find info on thousands of U.S. and international companies. Search by name, geography, industry and financial criteria. Get company overviews, financials, news, intellectual property, corporate hierarchy, and more. Search for lists of companies by geography, industry, NAICS/SIC, and other criteria. Includes private companies.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes international coverage and provides researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Business Journals This link opens in a new window
You will need to create an account using your WFU email to access this resource. Find the latest breaking business news, updated throughout the day, this week’s top stories from 46 Business Journals including the Greensboro/Triad Business Journal and the Charlotte Business Journal, and other popular features from the print edition.
Pitchbook This link opens in a new window
Pitchbook tracks every aspect of the public and private equity markets, including venture capital, private equity and M&A. Access detailed data on companies, deals investors, funds, and professionals. Users will need to enter in their WFU email to access.
Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports, as well as thousands of company histories, case studies, scholarly journals, and company news.

Market - Product/Service & Consumer

Search Term Suggestions:

Product/service category trends
purchasing and/or marketing channel (i.e. eCommerce, social media)
specific demographics of a consumer
specific psychographics of a consumer

Mintel Reports This link opens in a new window
Marketing and consumer research reports. Focuses on the USA and Europe. Each user must be a current affiliate of WFU and must sign in using their WFU username and password to access Mintel. Coverage: Details not available
Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides data, statistics, and reports on many topics including media, business, politics, society, technology and education. Add-ons include: Consumer Insights, providing increased data and analytics on consumer attitudes and behavior worldwide and eCommerce Insights, providing increased data and analytics on the eCommerce landscape including customer behavior and digital market insights.
Simmons Insights This link opens in a new window
Simmons Insights includes advanced reporting analytics, data visualizations, and business intelligence applications with comprehensive profiling that enable clients to build proprietary data dashboards and custom analyses. Five concurrent users may access Simmons Insights.
SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Map thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Coverage limited to the United States. Coverage: Details not available