"Pre-Research": Getting Started with Background Sources
Before getting started with research, it is a good idea to start with some background and context to the issues you are investigating. The informative sources below will help you get to that information quickly.
Contains reports and analysis on issues in the news including health, social trends and issues, criminal justice, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Great resource for background information on current news, hot topics, and social issues. Coverage back to 1923. Coverage: 1991-
Provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of hundreds of current issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. Coverage: Details not available
Search across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes a topic finder for help with narrowing or broadening your research topic. Coverage: varies
Search across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other referece works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes subject trees, pro/con resources, links to scholarly articles and more.
This comprehensive multidisciplinary database delivers credible facts and current insight into today's most debated political and social issues. Contains periodical content that covers current events, news and commentary, pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more.