ZSR Library Liaisons are assigned to each academic department and most interdisciplinary programs. Liaisons are available to support you in your research and teaching, from individual research consultations with students and faculty to classroom visits to acquiring materials. Find your library liaison here or email Kathy Shields at firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.
Your library liaison is your first point of contact! Get in touch with your liaison to request research instruction for your course and materials for your research and/or teaching. Liaisons are also available to consult on research assignments and faculty research projects. Your liaison can also connect you to other resources available through the library or on campus. Feel free to reach out to your liaison with questions about anything here.
Your DeaconOne Card is also your library card. Faculty can check out most books for up to 1 year, with no limit on the number of books checked out.
No DeaconOne Card? Sign in using your Wake username (no @wfu.edu) and password to request materials via ZSR Delivers. You will need to provide your WFU ID number (available in Workday) to create your account. Contact email@example.com with questions.
Use ZSR Delivers to request physical materials from our collection (both in ZSR and our offsite storage facility) to be delivered to your office or to one of the smart lockers in the 24-hour study room at the front of the building. ZSR Delivers also includes Interlibrary Loan, which enables you to request materials not held by ZSR. Articles and book chapters typically take 1-3 days to arrive via email, while books and other physical items can take 1-2 weeks. For remote faculty, both ZSR and non-ZSR materials can also be shipped to your home address.
Primo is ZSR Library's catalog/search interface for locating materials held by the library both physically and online.
Looking for resources in your discipline? Search the ZSR Databases for a specific database or browse by subject, name, or format, use Find a Journal to search for a particular periodical, or review our research guides for specific courses and subjects.
ZSR's Course Reserves service allows faculty to make physical and digital materials available to their students. Log in to see your classes and complete the request form, and we will take care of the rest, including scanning and copyright compliance. Students can access online course reserves through the library homepage or through the Course Reserves module in Canvas. Physical reserves (e.g. books, DVDs) are available for 2-hour checkout at the ZSR service desk. Contact your liaison or firstname.lastname@example.org with any questions.
If you plan to share materials with students on your own through Canvas or another platform, make sure to check out this guide on how to make course readings available to your students online.
If you're planning to use multimedia in your course, ZSR provides access to multiple sources for streaming video and streaming audio that are licensed for classroom use. Contact your liaison with questions about how to include these in your course or check out this guide on how to use films in your teaching.
To request that the library purchase materials to support your research or teaching (e.g. books, ebooks, journals, databases, etc.), contact your library liaison. While we recommend purchasing ebooks (when available) for titles that will be used as course readings/texts, we are happy to purchase materials in your preferred format.
Use ZSR Delivers to request items not held by ZSR through Interlibrary Loan. Articles and book chapters typically take 1-3 days to arrive via email, while books and other physical items can take 1-2 weeks. For remote faculty, materials can also be sent to your home address.
Assigning a research project? Your liaison can work with you on a customized research instruction session for your course and can consult on assignment design and available resources. Liaisons can create a research guide for your class, either as a stand-alone resource or in conjunction with a research instruction session. Liaisons are also available for individual research consultations with students. Contact your liaison to discuss what options are most appropriate for your class.
Do you know about DISC (Digital Initiatives and Scholarly Communication)? Whether you have a work in progress or just an idea, this specialized team provides support for copyright, digital humanities, digital pedagogy and open education, research data management, and more. Schedule a consultation with DISC to learn more.
Our Special Collections and Archives (SCA) department has a wide collection of rare books, manuscripts, and other materials, as well as the University Archives. SCA also has a wide range of Digital Collections that are available for use in research and teaching. Contact email@example.com about developing assignments around our collections and/or scheduling a session for your class.
ZSR supports Zotero, a free, open source citation manager. ZSR provides unlimited Zotero storage to users that sign up with their WFU email. For more information, including tutorials, check out our Zotero guide.
Faculty working remotely have access to our online resources with an active WFU email address. We recommend beginning your research from the ZSR Library home page to ensure that you are routed to our holdings. Note that some resources require IP authentication, so you will need to be on VPN to access them through ZSR.
Online access issues should be reported through the Online Content Problem Report form.
Remote faculty can request physical library materials be sent to their home address via ZSR Delivers. ZSR Delivers also includes Interlibrary Loan, which enables you to request materials not held by ZSR. [See "How do I check out materials?" for more information.] Contact firstname.lastname@example.org with questions.