Skip to main content

HST 390: US History from Colonial to Present : Background Information

Dr. Caron - Spring 2020

Gathering Background Information

Use the background sources here, as well as other sources you might encounter, to gather information about your topic and consider what you still need to know before you start researching.  You can use this information in searching for primary sources.

- Dates              - Places           - Names of persons involved          - Names of organizations, government agencies, etc.          - Names of particular laws or events 

Background sources can also help you understand the larger historical context, so that you can determine what primary sources might be most useful or how a particular primary source fits into what was happening at that time. 

Using Subject Encyclopedias

Subject encyclopedias are a good starting point for researching a topic. The library provides access to hundreds of print and online encyclopedias. The articles in a subject encyclopedia are usually written by a scholar or expert in the field. Using subject encyclopedias at the beginning of your research can help you to define key terms to use in searching the library catalog and databases. Often these resources will include a list of references (books or journal articles) that you can use to identify other sources on your topic.

Reference Sources

SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS 

These are just a few of the subject encyclopedias in the ZSR Library collection. To find more, put in a search term and add the word encyclopedia to your search. We also have encyclopedias on poverty, religion, immigration, and many other topics. 

Course Guide

Kathy Shields's picture
Kathy Shields
Contact:
shielddk@wfu.edu
453 ZSR Library
336.758.5124
Website
Need help? Chat with us