Alumni Databases & Freely Available Resources for Research: Public Resources

View, print, and download statistics about population, housing,industry, and business. Using FactFinder, you can create reference and thematic maps; and search for specific data.

A peer-reviewed, open access journal published by the American Educational Research Association (AERA). Publishes studies of education and learning in various contexts, such as early childhood, after-school, primary and secondary, and post-secondary education.

Articles and information about races at all levels of government.

Time series data for U.S. national and state income accounts as well as international trade and investment. Also includes U.S. gross domestic product (GDP) by industry and input-output tables for select years.

The principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision making.

An online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the United States Department of Education.

An online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes thousands of summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from thousands of publishers.

Declassified documents, pictures, and recordings obtained through the Freedom of Information Act by the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at George Washington University in Washington, D.C.

Public opinion polling, demographic research, and other social science research.

The leading educational facility in the field of public opinion. The Center exists to promote the intelligent, responsible, and imaginative use of public opinion in addressing the problems faced by Americans and citizens of other nations.

A peer-reviewed, "Gold" open access journal from SAGE that publishes original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.

A wide range of free teacher tools and resources including standards-aligned cross curricular lessons which have been created by K-12 teachers from all over the United States.

TES is a British website that houses over 700K free resources for K-12 teachers. Made by teachers for teachers.

A database produced by the National Agricultural Library (NAL). Covers books, book chapters, journal articles, and other types of materials. Subjects include agriculture, agricultural economics, nutrition, and soil science.

BioMed Central publishes over 200 peer-reviewed open access journals in biological, geological, and health sciences, and other topic areas.

Authoritative information on health, medicine, diseases, drugs, and more.

Established through a partnership of the Association for Computing Machinery, the Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library, and arXiv (a free distribution service and an open archive for scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics).

Covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

From the National Library of Medicine. Non-technical information on diseases, drugs, supplements, and more.

Merck Manuals are the product of a collaboration between hundreds of medical experts worldwide, an independent editorial board of peer reviewers, and our editorial staff of physicians and professional medical writers. For over 100 years, Merck presents the best current thinking regarding medical diagnosis and treatment.

Provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

Includes information on research projects funded by the NIH as well as the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). RePORTER also includes links to publications and patents citing support from these projects.

Publishes open access journals, primarily in biological and health sciences fields.

A digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.

HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. Full text of public domain books.

The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

The Library of Congress launched By the People (crowd.loc.gov) in the autumn of 2018. The application invites you to transcribe, review, and tag digitized images of manuscripts and typed materials from the Library’s collections. Everyone is welcome to take part!

Includes more than 3,000 free, online books. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.