The Archives of Sexuality and Gender provides a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
A focus on leading social issues of the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Each title contains approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as overview information that places each document in context.
The collaborating institutions are digitizing about 127,000 pages from forty-nine archival collections related to the early days of the AIDS epidemic in the San Francisco Bay Area and making them widely accessible to the public online.
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.
The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. It provides access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. Log in as a WFU user to get access to downloadable PDFs of public domain items.
Digitized materials from the 19th century, including such collections as Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theatre, Music, and Literature, European Literature, 1790-1840, and Women: Transnational Networks.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women in 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
The advanced search option allows you to specify time period and geographic area. Canadian sources are particularly well represented. Also accessible from the ZSR Library catalog or database page.
Includes a wide variety of sources about Latin America and the Caribbean: reference articles and commentary; academic journals and news-feeds; primary-source documents; maps and statistics; audio and video; and more. Covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.
Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Title include such popular magazines such as Vanity Fair, Godey's Lady's Book, and Ladies' Home Journal. Articles, advertisements, and illustrations are included.
LIFE Magazine is the treasured photographic magazine that chronicled the 20th Century. It now lives on at LIFE.com, the largest, most amazing collection of professional photography on the internet. Users can browse, search and view photos of today’s people and events. They have free access to share, print and post images for personal use.
Multi-disciplinary databases that provides access to current newspapers, magazines, and journals. Use the Source Type on the left side to limit to Newspapers, and use the Publication Title to limit to certain publications. Use Document Type to limit your search to illustrations, cartoons, advertisements, and other visual elements.