Welcome
This research guide is designed for students doing research for the Strategy Strikes Back FYS. If you run into any problems, or need more assistance, don't hesitate to request a personal research session. ~ Rosalind Tedford
Historical News Sources
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearch the full text of historical newspapers. WFU access includes the Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), African American Newspapers Series 1 (1827-1998), African American Newspapers Series 2 (1835-1956), and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876). Coverage: 1690-1876, 1827-1998
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowIncludes hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration. Coverage: 1801-1899
- Times Digital Archive (1785-2014) This link opens in a new windowSearchable, full-text, page image access to the Times of London, sometimes called the "world's newspaper of record." Access goes back to the first issue.
- Economist Historical Archive This link opens in a new windowFully searchable, complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly magazine covering politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Coverage: 1843-2008
- British Library Newspapers (1800-1900) This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable, full page image digital access to newspapers from throughout the British isles, including Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales. Includes access to Parts I & II (1800-1900). Coverage: 1800-1900
- British Periodicals This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable, full page image digital access to British journals published between the late 1600s and early 1900s. Topics covered include, literature, art, music, architecture, drama, history, science, and more. Includes access to collections I & II. Coverage: 1680s-1930s
Video Resources
- Filmakers Library Online This link opens in a new windowStreaming video collection of award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more. Coverage: Details not available
- Films on Demand - Master Academic Package This link opens in a new windowContains videos in business, economics, health, medicine, humanities, social sciences, science and mathematics. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 1,200 streaming videos providing a range of content including video documentaries and series from PBS. Covers subjects from science, history, art, Shakespeare, diversity, business & economics, and more.
- Kanopy Video This link opens in a new windowStreaming video platform for libraries that offers films, TV shows, and documentaries across mutliple subject areas.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowAcademic streaming library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more. ZSR subscribes to the 1000 most popular titles and has licensed a few others for campus.
Best Bets and Starting Points
STEP 1: Familiarize yourself with US involvement in foreign conflicts
STEP 2: These sources will help you learn more about the specific US conflict you want to analyze for your final paper.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowCovers political, economic and statistical information about more than 250 countries and territories, as well as international and regional organizations. A starting point for any kind of country research. Coverage: Details not available
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowOverviews of research and trends and background information in the Social Sciences and Humanities. WFU access includes the following subject collections: Asian Studies; Communication, Journalism, Media & Culture; Environment & Sustainability; Law; Philosophy; Politics; Religion; Security Studies; and Sociology.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes a collection of scholarly handbooks in History, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Great starting point for background research.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other referece works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes subject trees, pro/con resources, links to scholarly articles and more.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowSearch across hundreds of subject encyclopedias and other reference works. A great place to find background information on almost any research topic. Includes a topic finder for help with narrowing or broadening your research topic. Coverage: varies
Books
- ZSR Library CatalogUse this to find books, ebooks, government documents, and documentaries on your conflict.
Tips for searching the catalog:
- "Vietnam War", "Iraq War", "World War II" can all be searched in quotation marks to make your results more relevant
- Add in an additional term to narrow down your results even more "World War II" AND "resistance" for example
- If it is a smaller conflict, you can try searching for the country name and "united states" i.e. Grenada "United States"
- If you know the name of the military operation, try that "Operation Desert Storm"
- Names of people can also be useful (Reagan, Duarte, Castro, etc.)
- For larger conflicts you might want to add "strategy" or another term to limit your results
Scholarly Journal Databases in Political Science (and related disciplines)
Databases for General International Politics and Government
- ProQuest Political Science Database This link opens in a new windowContains hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, full-text doctoral dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. This link cross searches ProQuest Political Science Database, PAIS Index, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Coverage: 1985-
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new windowContains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage generally begins with the first issue published, so contains over a century of law and legal scholarship.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
Databases for International Military and Security Issues
- ProQuest Military Database This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text titles on military issues from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Coverage: 1987-
- Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides full text from military and general interest publications including government offices, journals, think tanks and more. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. Coverage: 1985-
- Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFocused on strategy and policy in the various subject areas of homeland security research. Sources of information include governmental departments and agencies, academic institutions, think tanks, conference sites, non-governmental organizations, institutes and organizations, and other entities. Coverage: Details not available
- JSTOR Security Studies This link opens in a new windowContains journals, ebooks, and Open Access research reports in the field of security studies. This content looks at security studies through a broad lens, encompassing research on international security and peace and conflict studies from all corners of the globe.
Primary Sources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new windowAll things Congress- full text of: federal bills and laws (1776-present); voting records (1987-present); U.S. Serial Set and American State Papers (1817-present); published and unpublished Congressional hearings from (1824 to present); Congressional Record (1873-present) and its predecessor publications (1789-1873); Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present). Coverage: 1789-present
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowSignificant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Contains declassified documents that have been gathered through the U.S. Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Coverage: 1945-2002
