Use online databases to locate short and subject-specific resources like journal articles, newspaper articles, book chapters, and more.
- MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography)
Indexes scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, working papers, and doctoral dissertations on topics pertaining to literature, modern languages, dramatic arts, folklore, and linguistics.
A typical search in the MLA would consist of the name of the literary author, then the title of the literary work, and finally terms that describe the theme under investigation, linked by "or." See screen image below:
- Environment Complete
Includes energy and renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, and pollution; 1901-.
Includes scholarly, government, and general interest sources on renewable energy, global warming, pollution, recycling, and sustainable agriculture.
Covers public policy issues, indexing articles, books, government documents, and more; 1915-.
- Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world, 1450 to the present, and provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations.
- America: History and Life
Covers the history of the U.S. and Canada, pre-history to the present, and provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations.
Full-text archived scholarly journals, with backfiles to first volume of title; excludes recent volumes.
- Project Muse
Full-text archived scholarly journals in the arts & humanities as well as the social sciences.
- Academic Search Premier
Proquest and Academic Search Premier are multi-subject, largely full-text databases that include content from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals