Skip to main content

ENG 175: Literature and the Environment: Research Resources

Book a Research Session With a Librarian

The best way to start your research is by setting up a meeting with one of ZSR's research librarians. We want to help you through whatever part of the research process you're in, from choosing a topic to conducting a comprehensive search for resources. Click below to find a librarian in the subject area you need.

Background Information to Start Your Research

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedias and dictionaries (terms often used interchangeably) provide an overview of a given subject, introduce basic concepts, summarize key issues, define terminology, and cite factual information. The articles, written by experts in the field, may also refer to other entries on related topics, and frequently include brief bibliographies to lead the researcher to other resources.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Full-text collection of reference books covering numerous subject areas, including literature and history. Works can be searched simultaneously or individually.

Artemis Literary Sources
Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors, combining the full-text content of Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and the Gale Literary Criticism series.

Credo Reference
Includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,100 short reference videos, nearly 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps across all subject areas.

Print Resources:
(Please remember that unlike online resources, print resources are fixed in time. Keep in mind the recency of the information you read!)

Subject Guide

Ellen Daugman's picture
Ellen Daugman
Contact:
ZSR Library 457C
336.758.1927

Subject Guide

Jon Moore's picture
Jon Moore
Contact:
ZSR Library, Room 455
(336) 758-4654
Website
Need help? Chat with us