Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to narrow or broaden your search and to exclude terms in your search.

• AND – narrows a search (ex. media AND violence – both terms have to appear in articles for database to retrieve)
• OR – broadens a search (ex. college OR university – articles with either term will be retrieved by database)
• NOT – excludes terms in search (ex. bulimia NOT anorexia – articles with only the term bulimia will be retrieved by database)

Truncation - Use the * (asterisk symbol) to search for variations of the root of a word (e.g. wom* - will retrieve search results with woman, women, womanly, womanhood)

Exact phrase - Use quotation marks around a phrase to retrieve results that include the exact phrase (e.g. "Nazca lines" or "Kennewick Man".

Use the built-in database filters to limit your search results! - Most interfaces let you limit by publication date, subject, format and more. These features will help you hone your search strategy to find the most relevant sources!

• America: History and Life 
  Search for articles published in peer-reviewed history journals and trade publications. 

• Anthropology Plus
  Indexes periodicals, journals, and edited works, with an emphasis on archaeology, anthropology, and linguistics.

• Artstor
  The Artstor Digital Library provides images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Comprises contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Images form Artstor are for noncommercial educational or scholarly use only. Images may be used in educational or scholarly presentations, including printed handouts, but may not be otherwise distributed or publicly displayed.

• JSTOR
  ​Search for articles published in peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of disciplines, including History and Archaeology.

• Project MUSE
  ​Search for articles published in peer-reviewed journals in a wide range of disciplines.

• Historical Archaeology  Available Online - Coverage from: 1967

• International Journal of Historical Archaeology  Available Online - Coverage from: 1997

• Journal of African Diaspora Archaeology and Heritage  (Not in ZSR - Articles may be requested via Interlibrary Loan)