Skip to main content

Country Research: Articles on Countries

A guide to finding economic, political and social information about countries. Includes resources for country profiles, articles about countries, sources of economic data and country rankings.

Articles about Countries

Use these databases to find articles about a country in business magazines, news magazines and foreign and domestic newspapers. 

Databases

Proquest ABI/Inform: Full text (in either PDF or HTML format) of several thousand business magazines and journals.  To find articles about a country, use the "Advanced Search" interface and search the country's name in either the abstract or "location/LOC" field from the pull-down menu.  Try adding a second term, such as "economic" or "political," to your search strategy by typing the term in the second search box.  Search for the second term as a subject, abstract or title word.

Business Source Premier: Full text (in either PDF or HTML format) of several thousand business magazines and journals.  To find articles about a country, use the "Advanced Search" tab and search the country's name in either the abstract or "geographic terms" field from the pull-down "Select a Field" menu.  Try adding a second term, such as "economic" or "political," to your search strategy by typing the term in the second search box.  Search for the second term as a subject, abstract or title word.

LEXIS-NEXIS: Full text (HTML format) of articles from newspapers and many kinds of magazines, transcripts of broadcast news programs and selected online content.  To find articles about a country, use the "Power Search" mode, click the radio button for the "natural language" search mode, enter the country name and  and one or two other terms that describe your topic.  Then select a publication group (e.g., "Major World Newspapers") and date range.

ProQuest Newspapers (Wall Street Journal): Full text (HTML format) of articles from The Wall Street Journal (1984-present).  To find articles about a country, click the "advanced search" tab, type the country name in the first box and select "Location" from the adjacent drop-down menu.  From the drop-down menu next to "Database," select "News-Proquest Newspapers," and then select a date range for your search. 

Economist.com: Subscription website of the The Economist magazine.  Contains multi-year archive of Economist articles plus additional Web-only content.  To find articles about a certain country, click "Topics" and find your country in the alphabetical list of topics.     

Internet

Google News: Use the special Google interface called "Google News" as a quick and easy way to find current articles about a country in any of thousands of newspapers and online news websites.

Subject Guide

Bob Hebert's picture
Bob Hebert
Contact:
Business Information Commons
251F Farrell Hall
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, NC 27104
336.758.4567
hebertb@wfu.edu
336-758-4567
Need help? Chat with us