Skip to main content

Country Research: Country Profiles

A guide to finding economic, political and social information about countries. Includes resources for country profiles, articles about countries, sources of economic data and country rankings.

Country Profiles

Databases

Marketline: Annual in-depth reports covering the political, economic, social and legal environments of most countries.  To find the most recent "country profile" for a given country, type the name of a country in the main search box.  Then click on the word "countries" (near the top of the screen) and you should see the "country profile" link for that country at the top of the search results.  Click the PDF link to download the full report in PDF format.

Europa World Plus: political and economic information on more than 250 countries and territories.

ABI/Inform Complete: In addition to being an article database, ABI/Inform contains reference material about foreign countries. to find reports on a country, use the Advanced Search interface and search the name of the country in the location (LOC) field combined with the word "economic" in the subject field and click the word "report" in the 'source type' list.

Business Source Premier: In addition to being an article database, BSP contains reference material about foreign countries.

To find the country reports from various sources, click the Advanced Search link on the main page and search the name of a country, e.g. Brazil, in the "Geographic Terms" field.  Then click the boxes next to Full Text and next to Country Reports and that will limit your results to the various country report sources.

Doing Business (World Bank): The Doing Business Project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level.

Euromonitor Passport

Country Commercial Guides: U.S. government reports providing information on foreign countries and markets to U.S. exporting firms. 

PWC Country Information

Global Road Warrior: Combines practical information for business travelers with concise political and economic background information.

Subject Guide

Bob Hebert's picture
Bob Hebert
Contact:
Business Information Commons
251F Farrell Hall
Wake Forest University
Winston-Salem, NC 27104
336.758.4567
hebertb@wfu.edu
336-758-4567
Need help? Chat with us