It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As you are working on research for your Study of Religions courses, please let me know if I can help in any way! Please feel free to email me and we can discuss your questions over email, or we can set up a virtual research session in Zoom, WebEx, or Google Meet. You can view my calendar to set up an video appointment.
And last, but not least, remember to cite your sources! The Chicago Manual of Style (use VPN) can help you with formatting citations for the sources you find.
Stay healthy and well! Kaeley McMahan
Two Tech Tips:
Download and use VPN: If you keep VPN running in the background while you access campus resources (ebooks, databases, etc...) it makes it look like you are on campus, so many of the authentication issues you might otherwise have will go away.
ProQuest Ebook Central: If you get this error message, don't fear! Just do as it says and reload the page and it will take you to your book:
Oxford Bibliographies Online are authoritative, scholar-developed research guides. They combine features of an annotated bibliography and a subject encyclopedia, guiding researchers to the best available scholarship on the topic.
Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline, explains the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and describes how those debates might evolve. The handbooks offer authoritative and trustworthy guides to the scholarship that defines the field.
The library catalog is the place to locate scholarly ebooks in religious studies. To display only ebook results, make sure you select "available online" and "books" in the filters on the left side of the page. You can also use an * and OR to expand your results, as shown below. Pray*= pray, prayer, prays, prayers, praying, etc... while islam* OR muslim* means any variation of either islam, islams, islamic, muslim, mulims, etc... is an appropriate search result.
Listing of university presses that have made ebooks available temporarily. Organized by publisher name. If you don't know which publisher published the book you are looking for, consult the library catalog (make sure to deselect the online only search limit) or amazon.
Scholarly Journal Articles
If you are looking for scholarly/peer-reviewed/academic articles, look for these features:
at least 8-10 pages in length
author is an academic (professor, PhD, researcher, etc...)
published in an academic journal (Journal of Biblical Literature, Journal of Spirituality in Mental Health, Religion and American Culture, etc...)
the bibliography is appropriate for the article length
The following databases are excellent places to look for scholarly journal articles in religious studies, though you can find many more here.