Skip to main content

Open Access: Sharing Your Scholarship

Open Access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most copyright and licensing restrictions. (Peter Suber, "A Very Brief Introduction to Open Access")

Do you know your archiving rights?

So you'd like to archive your scholarship in WakeSpace or a subject repository? Great! But do you know if you have the rights to do so? If not, the SHERPA/RoMEO database provides archiving allowance information, searchable by journal or publisher. Although the database is not exclusive, and archiving allowances should always be confirmed by reading publishers' policies, SHERPA/RoMEO is a fast way to check your rights. And from here forward, always read and keep your copyright transfer agreements or publication agreements to be absolutely sure you have the necessary rights to archive.

WakeSpace Institutional Repository

WakeSpace Digital Archive is WFU's institutional repository, built to capture scholarship created by WFU faculty and students. The primary objective of WakeSpace is to archive and make publicly available copies of research publications, increasing the likelihood that the research will be found and shared as broadly as possible.

Disciplinary & Subject Repositories

Below are links to well-known OA repositories. Additional repositories may be found via OpenDOAR (The Directory of Open Access Repositories) and ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories).

Funder Archiving Policies

Need help? Chat with us