Skip to main content

ENG 323: Shakespeare: Databases

Databases

Databases

Use online databases to locate references to journal articles, book chapters, books, and literary works. 

 MLA (Modern Language Association International Bibliography)
Indexes  scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, working papers, and doctoral dissertations on topics pertaining to literature, modern languages, dramatic arts, folklore, and linguistics.

A typical search in the MLA would consist of the name of the literary author, then the title of the literary work, and finally terms that describe the theme under investigation, linked by "or."  See screen image below:

ABELL/Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays, and doctoral dissertations.

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world, 1450 to the present, and provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations.

ATLA international religious research

Iter:  Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes publications dealing with Europe and the Middle East from 400-1700, literature, art, history, politics, etc.

JSTOR
Full-text archived scholarly journals, with backfiles to first volume of title; excludes recent volumes.

Project Muse
Full-text archived scholarly journals in the arts & humanities as well as the social sciences.

Academic Search Premier
Proquest

Proquest
and Academic Search Premier are multi-subject, largely full-text databases that include content from newspapers, magazines, and scholarly journals.
 

OED (Oxford English Dictionary)

Databases for Primary Source Materials

EEBO (Early English Books Online)
Full image database of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in England or in English elsewhere in the world between 1475 and 1700. Based on The English Short Title Catalogue, and corresponds to the Pollard & Redgrave and the Wing Short-Title Catalogues, as well as The Thomason Tracts.

The Shakespeare Collection
Resources for the study of Shakespeare, including the Arden full-text annotated editions, discussion of plays' sources with transcriptions in appendices, prompt books, criticism, and other reference material.

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Rosalind Tedford's picture
Rosalind Tedford
Contact:
ZSR Library
Room 457A
336-758-5910
Need help? Chat with us