Skip to main content

Dance History Research Resources: Other Databases

Searching Databases

Use electronic databases to find journal articles, book chapters and reviews. The library has over 200 databases for finding journal articles. The Performing Arts page includes the databases relevent to Dance, most importantly, the International Index of the Performing Arts.

Remember, these databases include articles from scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. If your professor requires that you use scholarly journal articles for your project, take a look at this website help you decide whether your articles are appropriate! When in doubt, ASK your professor or a librarian!

Multidisciplinary, Historical and Sports Databases

Full-text, Multi-subject Databases

(index journal, magazine, and newspaper articles)

  • Academic Search Complete
    "Provides abstracts, indexing, and full-text for journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, and more."
  • JSTOR
    "A full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago."
  • Project MUSE
    "Provides access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities and social sciences."
  • ProQuest
    "Contains articles covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Databases include Research Library, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Religion."

Historical Databases

  • America: History and Life
    "America: History and Life provides abstracts and citations from reviews and dissertations about the history and culture of the United States and Canada from the earliest recorded times to the present. See Historical Abstracts for world history."
  • Historical Abstracts(world history, other than the U.S. and Canada)
    "Historical Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450 -- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life."

Sports Databases

(for dance injuries, or dance as physical therapy)
  • Sports Medicine & Education Index
    "Topics include physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sport law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, sport sociology/psychology, health education and physical therapy."
  • SPORTDiscus(covers sport, fitness and dance)
    "Citations and some abstracts from periodicals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, research papers, etc. SPORTDiscus covers the areas of: sport, physical fitness, sport science and recreation."
Need help? Chat with us