Skip to main content

Indigenous Peoples: Law & the criminal justice system

This guide supports Prof. Ulrike Wiethaus' courses on Indigenous Peoples.

State Statutory Research

Important Court Cases

Cherokee Nation v. Georgia.  (1831) Supreme Court ruling on status of Indians under the Constitution.

Worcester v. Georgia (1832). Summary of arguments for relocating Eastern tribes in the West.

Sources for Legal Research

National Tribal Justice Resource Center
Includes: History of Tribal Courts, Tribal Court Programs, Tribal Court Basics (tribal court operations, including procedures and a glossary of terms), a Tribal Courts directory, Tribal Court Codes, and Tribal Court Constitutions.

American Indian Civil Rights Handbook
This the report was published by the United States Commission on Civil Rights in 1972, but provides an interesting historical persective.

Native American Graves Protection and Repatriation Act
A database of claims, resolution and resources

Native American Law

Native American Rights Fund

National Indian Law Library

Tribal Court Clearinghouse

CFR on GPO Access

North Carolina Statutes

The Justice Policy Institute

The Innocence Project 

Laws & Treaties from National Archives

Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
Edited by Charles Kappler, this seven-volume set is a compilation of U.S. laws, treaties, and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes, covering the years 1778 to 1970.
Indian Bounty Land Applications
A Fall 1993 article from the NARA publication, Prologue, by Mary Frances Morrow.
Native American Legal Resources
(University of Oklahoma College of Law)
Highlights of these resources include the American Indian Law Review and the Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project.
Relations between the United States and Native Americans
From the Avalon Project at the Yale Law School, this site includes treaties and laws relating to Native Americans.
United States: Native Americans
The Law Library of Congress provides a listing of valuable Indian Treaties, judicial decisions, U.S. Codes, and lawmaking agendas relating to Native American history.
Treaty of 1868
From a NARA online exhibit, this web page presents the 1868 treaty recognizing the Black Hill as part of the Great Sioux Reservation.

Subject Guide

Hu Womack's picture
Hu Womack
Contact:
ZSR Library Room 456
336 758 4314
Website
Need help? Chat with us