It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry: Reference Resources
This guide will lead to resources on the subject of chemistry.
A web resource that contains CAS Registry Numbers for approximately 7,900 chemicals of widespread general public interest. Common Chemistry is helpful to non-chemists who know either a name or CAS Registry Number® of a common chemical and want to pair both pieces of information.
Search compound by name if you have it. Some compounds have more than one name, ex. ethanol
Put molecular formulas in "Hill order": Carbons first, then hydrogens, and then all other elements alphabetically. With some databases, capitalization does count.
Chemical Abstract Registry number is like a social security number for a compound and is a very precise way to search.
Many resources have both property and spectra information.
Your boiling point may be higher or lower (+/- 5 degrees) than the literature values.
Notice the technique and instrumentation that is used for obtaining spectra. Does it match yours? If not, what differences between spectra would you expect?
Acknowledgements: Reused with permission from Sue Cardinal, Chemistry Librarian at the University of Rochester-River Campus
The Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) Web Version is a chemical database containing over 500,000 substances which are formerly available from the following products: Dictionary of Analytical Reagents, Dictionary of Carbohydrates, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, and the Dictionary of Drugs (formerly PharmaSource)
Published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP) for NIST. The objective of the Journal is to provide critically evaluated physical and chemical property data, fully documented as to the original sources and the criteria used for evaluation.
Database of reproducible, step-by-step laboratory protocols in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. Compiles protocols from book series Methods in Molecular Biology, Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a number of Laboratory Handbooks.