Research Guides: PHI 367 Philosophical Theories in Bioethics: Where to Search: Library Resources

Where to Search

These database sources are your best bets for finding medical science related literature. Click on any link to take you directly to the database homepage.

ZSR Catalog and Library Databases:

ZSR Library Catalog
Data about the books, journals, films, manuscripts, and other materials owned by the ZSR Library. Coverage: 14th century-
PubMed
Citation database with access to MEDLINE covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services include the Journal Browser, MeSH (Medical Subject Heading) Browser, Citation Matcher, and Clinical Queries. Coverage: 1946-
Embase
Multipurpose and up-to-date biomedical database covering international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day. All articles are indexed using Elsevier's Life Science Thesaurus, Embase Indexing, and Emtree.
Web of Science
Contains three ISI Citation Databases (Science Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index), plus Biological Abstracts, Emerging Sources Citation Index, MEDLINE (PubMed), and the SciELO Citation Index. Provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Coverage: 1945-
Philosopher's Index
"Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and over 270 journals published in the U.S. and the Western World. Covers philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields." Coverage: 1940-
Dynamedex
DynaMedex combines the clinical expertise and extensive, curated disease content of DynaMed with the comprehensive view into treatment options, depth and breadth of drug information and advanced search capabilities of Micromedex. Provide users with evidence-based insights for optimal clinical decision-making and improved patient outcomes. This resource replaced UpToDate.
AccessMedicine
A comprehensive online medical education resource. Includes reference tools, images, a diagnostic tool, drug & patient information, textbooks, cases, videos, and self-assessment for medical students.
CINAHL Ultimate
Provides broad content and high volume of full texts for nursing and allied health research. Specialties include ambulatory care, occupational therapy, pediatrics, psychiatry, nuclear medicine, gerontology, and more. Resources include quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments tools.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Provides indexing and abstracts for nursing & allied health scholarly literature. Includes the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Coverage: varies
ScienceDirect
Coverage includes Biochemistry and Biology, Business & Management, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Economics, Engineering & Technology, Environmental Science, Materials Science, Mathematics & Computer science, Medicine & Pharmacology, Neurosciences, Physics, Social Sciences. Coverage: varies
Scopus
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature from scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Areas of focus include science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Get What You Need

If ZSR doesn't have it, ZSR Delivers can get it!

We get books, articles, and other materials from libraries across the country. This service is provided free of charge to WFU faculty, students, and staff.