Skip to Main Content

Systematic Reviews & Evidence Synthesis

About Step 8: Write the Review

Step 8: Write the Review
Average time (in hours) to complete

Step 8 includes writing an article about your review. Systematic reviews typically the following sections (TBD). You will: 

  1. If publishing your SR, choose a target journal for your article to ensure you write your paper considering that journal's requirements
  2. Review PRISMA reporting standards, your completed data tables, and the PRISMA flow chart
  3. Write the sections of a paper. Sections are a SR typically include: 
    1. Introduction
    2. Literature Review
    3. Methods
    4. Results
    5. Discussion
    6. Conclusion
  4. Write an academic Abstract and a Plain Language Summary both describing your study 
  5. Cite the studies included in your review and any other articles used in the literature review

How a librarian can help with this step

ZSR can help you with writing your review by: 

  • Helping you find the right journal for your publication
  • Reviewing the PRISMA reporting guidelines and templates with your team
  • Advising you on how to report your search strategy and SR methodology in the review
  • Locating previously published reviews as a guidance in organizing your manuscript

Click HERE to contact us for SR support!

PRISMA (Reporting Standards for Systematic Reviews)

Use PRISMA to report your results: 

If you'll recall, The PRISMA Statement consists of a 27-item checklist and four-phase flow diagram. 

The checklist covers all aspects of the manuscript: title, abstract, introduction, methods, results, discussion, and funding. For details, rationale, and examples for each item on the checklist, consult the PRISMA 2020 explanation and elaboration document.

The diagram visually displays how you came to include the final number of studies in your SR. Play close attention to how to document grey literature and/or hand searching if you've include those in your project. 

Here is a snap shot of the PRISMA Checklist along with a few highlights:

Item #7: Search Strategy for documentation in the Methods Section of your paper

Items #17 & 18: Study Characteristics and Risk of Bias judgements for documentation in the Results Section

Items #24: Registration and protocol information for documentation in the Methods Section

Check out this excellent SR Manuscript Template created by our friends at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Health Science Library. Each section includes: 

  • the PRISMA checklist item that should be written about in that section,
  • the matching PRISMA Item number, and
  • a box where authors can indicate if an item has been completed.

Sections of a systematic review

Although SR manuscripts follow the same structure as original research articles, in place of details like participant characteristics and sampling methods, SR authors need to report on the search strategies used to find articles. Each section listed below corresponds to the headings on the PRISMA checklist.

Title Describe your study in just a few words. Ensure you include searchable keywords and "systematic review" here
Abstract Create an informative study summary. Include: background, objectives, databases, study eligibility criteria, quality assessment & synthesis methods, results, limitations, conclusions, implications, and protocol registration number (as indicated or required by the journal). 
Introduction Describe the rationale for the SR; provide research questions being addressed
Methods* Detail the protocol, eligibility criteria, databases searched, summary of the search strategy (full search strategy for all databases is reported in appendix), and the study selection process. Describe how data were extracted and analyzed.
Results Include the numbers of articles screened at each stage (PRISMA diagram), study characteristics, risk of bias (quality assessment) judgements, and results across studies.
Discussion Summarize main findings, strength of evidence, limitations,* and general interpretation and implications of the results for future research.
Funding Describe any sources of funding for the SR
Appendix*
Describe the entire search strategy for all databases 

*If a librarian is part of your research team, they may be best suited to write/assist with these sections. Please visit our ZSR Partnership Options page.  

Plain Language Summary (PLS)

Not all journals require authors to submit a Plain Language Summary (PLS), but it makes sense to prepare one to have handy for other purposes. The PLS is an easy-to-understand summary and explanation of your complex research findings written for a non-specialist audience. Remember to: 

  • Be clear and concise: Sentences should be kept short and straightforward and focus on conveying the main message and key findings without unnecessary details or background information.
  • Use non-technical language: Avoids jargon, acronyms, and highly specialized terms. If technical terms must be used, they should be clearly defined in simple language. Remember your audience are likely not scientists, so be sure to use an approachable and engaging tone. 
  • Use active voice: You did A LOT of work with your SR study - make sure your audience understands that. Say "we searched 4 databases and 3 popular science magazine websites" rather than "Four databases and 3 popular science magazines websites were searched"
  • Check with your journal: As with the entire manuscript, be sure to check the author guidelines the journal provides for formatting and publishing your PLS. 

The goal is to make technical information accessible to a broader public, including patients, caregivers, policymakers, and the general public, who may not have a background in the specific field. The PLS of your work is a great addition to your social media post alerting your followers to the publication of your team's hard work.