Course Guide
Article Databases
FINDING SCHOLARLY JOURNAL ARTICLES
To locate ZSR holdings for a specific journal (or magazine or newspaper), search for the title in Find a Journal.
To search for articles on your topic, use the online databases listed below. Click on the PDF or linked full text to view the full article, or click on WFU Full Text Options to search our holdings for the article.
Remember, if we don't have a journal or article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan!
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Access is limited to six simultaneous users. Coverage: 1954-
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of archived issues of academic journals. Since JSTOR is a backfiles project, a typical coverage range is the beginning of a journal until three or five years ago. Artstor images are now integrated into JSTOR. Supported in part by the Dail Endowment Fund. Coverage: Varies
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text and citations for scholarly journals articles, magazines, exhibition reviews, and trade publications, covering antiques, art, art history, architecture, interior and landscape design, and more. Also includes an image collection. Coverage: Details not available
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of scholarly journals and books in the arts and humanities and social sciences. Coverage: Varies
- Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new windowThe premier database for research in religious studies, the Atla database provides full-text coverage for major international journals, magazines, and professional publications. Multiple religious traditions and related disciplines, such as anthropology, political science, counseling, and history are represented. Coverage: 1818-
Tips for Searching Article Databases
The databases listed here may help you find and get access to newspaper articles, magazines articles, and scholarly journal articles about your topic. But how do you get started?
1. Choose keywords that describe your topic and consider how different authors might describe the same topic. For example: (women OR gender) AND Ital* AND (politics OR government)
2. Use the tools provided by the database to narrow your search by date, document type, and more.
3. Read the abstract or summary of the article to decide if it is relevant to your topic.
4. If the article is relevant, make sure to save it! ZSR recommends saving it to Zotero (which will also help you cite it later in your paper!). You can also email it to yourself or copy the permalink (NOT the link in the browser bar!).
Need help? Ask a librarian!