Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina, this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through a range of primary source materials. Coverage: 1863-1986

An online family history resource that provides access to historical documents and photos, including birth and death certificates, census records, and more. Useful for biographical research.

Archive of video oral histories from both well-known and unsung African Americans from diverse backgrounds. Search by name, area of influence, birth state, or by broad topic. All videos include full-text searchable transcripts.

Social Explorer allows users to visually explore demographic information, from census and economic data to election and religion data. The site includes data from the entire US Census from 1790 to 2010 and preliminary data from Census 2020, all annual updates from the American Community Survey to 2023, and other data sets.

Search the full text of periodicals published by or about African Americans to gain insights into African American history, society, and culture. Coverage: 1825-1995

Search the full text of historical newspapers. WFU access includes the Early American Newspapers Series 1 (1690-1876), African American Newspapers Series 1 (1827-1998), African American Newspapers Series 2 (1835-1956), and Caribbean Newspapers (1718-1876). Coverage: 1690-1876, 1827-1998

Provides access to the entire Ebony Magazine archive from 1945-2014. Browse issues or search across the entire archive, including images and advertisements. Coverage: 1945-2014

Provides access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents that explore the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America.

Provides access to the entire JET Magazine archive from 1951-2014. Browse issues or search across the entire archive, including images and advertisements. Coverage: 1951-2014

Provides full-text searchable access to both U.S. and selected international historical newspapers, including: New York Times (1851-three years ago), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Washington Post (1877-2006), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Times of India (1838-2010), Korea Times (1956-2016), Irish Times and Weekly Irish Times (1859-2021), the Chinese Historical Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), the South China Morning Post (1903-2001), and Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015). More recent issues may be available through other databases. Includes advertisements, illustrations, etc. as they were laid out on the original page. Coverage: Varies by publication.

Data about the books, journals, films, manuscripts, and other materials owned by the ZSR Library. Coverage: 14th century-

Provides access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents that explore the culture, traditions, social treatment, and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America.

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. Coverage: 1985-