This guide is designed to orient you to resources and services available through ZSR Library that will help you research the colonial North America. If you have any questions about the resources provided in this guide, please let me know! Email me or click on the "Meet with Me" button in my profile to set up a personal research session. 

Roberts, Bishop. View of Charleston, South Carolina. 1735. From ArtSTOR. 

Use the tabs along the top to navigate through this guide. 

Background Information > This page includes links to reference books (such as subject encyclopedias) and other sources to help you gain background knowledge and a "big picture" of what was going in during a particular point in history or of a particular event. They may include references to primary source materials or secondary sources. 

Books and More > This page includes links to our online catalog, which will help you locate books that contain an analysis of particular events. These may also include references to primary source materials. 

Article Databases > This page includes links to our online article databases, which will help you locate scholarly journal articles and articles from periodicals that contain an analysis of particular events. These may also include references to primary source materials. 

Primary Sources > This page includes links to both subscription-based and open archives of periodicals (including newspapers and magazines), books, government documents, and other sources created during or near the time of a particular event. 

KEEP IN MIND: 

If ZSR does not have access to a particular resource (such as a book or article), you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. Items that have to be sent through the mail can take a week or two to arrive, so plan ahead! 

Not every primary source is available in digital format, nor will it be readily available through Interlibrary Loan or other services. Check into the availability of sources you need EARLY in your project.