It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching Current Issues: Home
This research guide is designed for students doing research on current events, social issues, hot topics, etc. If you run into any obstacles, don't hesitate to book a research session. ~ Rosalind Tedford
Issue Analysis and Web Sources
Issue analysis organizations will differ depending on your topic, but here are some places to start.
Swank Digital CampusThis link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides a customizable academic streaming library of feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios, including Walt Disney, Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more.
Before getting started with issue research, it is a good idea to start with some background and context to the issues you are investigating. The sources below will help you get to that information quickly.
SIRS Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues.
Use our main library search interface Primo to locate books and other materials in Reynolds Library. When you search from the ZSR Library homepage, you will be taken to a search screen where books are in the center box on the top row. You can see all books from the search by clicking the total number of results in the top of the box, or the More Books link at the bottom. To find books on US Policy Issues, search on the policy and "United States":
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics & space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. Coverage: 1987-.
Other Policy-Related Databases
These databases (listed in the order of likelihood they will be useful to you) will get you to news and scholarly journal articles on public policies from databases for disciplines outside of Political Science. Be sure to include 'United States' as a search term if investigating domestic policy as many of them are international in scope.
A database of U.S. and international criminal justice journals supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Covers such areas as Criminology; Corrections & Law Enforcement; Criminal Justice; Addictions, Alcoholism, Gambling, Child Abuse; and Criminal Rehabilitation.
Provides citations and abstracts to articles published in some 2300 journals in sociology, social welfare, and social policy, as well as other related topics in the social and behavioral sciences. Also includes citations to some books and many dissertations. Includes Social Services Abstracts.
Essential resource produced by the National Library of Medicine for finding scholarly journal articles on biomedical topics. PubMed provides access to MEDLINE, a database of citations covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. Other services within PubMed include the Journal Browser and Citation Matcher. PubMed also provides access to molecular biology databases in the National Center for Biotechnology Informations (NCBI) Entrez retrieval system for bioinformatics research.