It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WRI 111: Rhetoric of Culture & Place: Journals & Databases
This guide supports Dr. Sink Haynes' WRI 111 course.
Good searching can shorten your research time significantly. Here are some tips from the pros:
Use quotation marks around a phrase to inform the search engine to look for exactly the phrase you enter- for example "public health" or "wildlife management".
When searching for a keyword with multiple variations (ex. "education", "educators") use the root form of the word and add an asterisk (*). This means using educat* will retrieve items that have all variations-- "education", "educators", etc.
Be specific: consider addition search terms or filters to help narrow your search results
Use the built-in database filters to focus your results- most interfaces let you limit by publication date, subject, format and more
Finally, ZSR Librarians are here to help you find the best sources for your research assignment!
Searches across all ProQuest article databases. Contains articles covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and business. Databases include Research Library, Ethnic NewsWatch, and ProQuest Religion.
Indexes periodicals, journals, and edited works, with an emphasis on archaeology, anthropology, and linguistics. Combines Anthropological Literature and Anthropological Index. Coverage: Late 19th century-present
Provides comprehensive coverage for the field of psychology. Contains abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and other sources. Links to full text in PsycARTICLES. Coverage: 1806-
Covers women s issues from 190 countries, with information available in full-text. Disciplines include sociology, psychology, health, education, business administration and political science. Coverage: 1992-
Contains the complete text of more than 250,000 articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 150 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S. Coverage: 1995-
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology. Coverage: 1987-
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. Coverage: 1985-
"Social Sciences Citation Index indexes over 1,700 journals in the social sciences including anthropology, communications, history, law, management, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's studies. It provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Social Sciences Citation Index is most useful for searching for articles that cite a known author or work. Citation searching also allows a researcher to use a given work as a subject term in order to identify more recent articles about the same topic." Coverage: 1956-
Provides citations and abstracts to articles published in some 2300 journals in sociology, social welfare, and social policy, as well as other related topics in the social and behavioral sciences. Also includes citations to some books and many dissertations. Includes Social Services Abstracts. Supported in part by the Paschal Library Endowment. Coverage: 1952-
Citations and some abstracts from periodicals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses, research papers, etc. SPORTDiscus covers the areas of: sports, physical fitness, sport science and recreation. Coverage: 1830-