Research Guides: EGR 111, Researching the Pre-Modern Engineer: Recommendations for Research

Where should I search for my pre-modern engineer?

Primo
Primo is the main search interface for Wake Forest.
TIP: Use the Advanced Search and change the search field from "Any field" to "Subject".

Engineering Workbench This link opens in a new window
Engineering Workbench includes a curated collection of technical knowledge from the world’s leading publishers, standards developing organizations and trusted information providers. Use the tool to find technical standards and the Research Assistant within Engineering Workbench to brainstorm and solve technical problems.

Academic Search Premier
This database is a good multi-subject source for articles.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
A biography database which merges Gale’s authoritative reference content, including Lives & Perspectives, with periodicals and multimedia. Includes more than 600,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study.

WorldCat (Advanced Search)
Think of WorldCat as the ibrary catalog of library catalogs. TIPS: Search for a book with the pre-modern engineer's name in the title. Limit your search to English as the language.
Hathi Trust Digital Library

Advances in artificial intelligence combined with open data initiatives have spawned new tools to aid in discovery. A few are listed below:

scite.ai: You can search by citation statement or papers to find related articles, conference proceedings, etc. The link provides an overview of the Scite trial that was conducted in Spring 2022 and a link to the scite.ai website. NOTE: We have access to scite.ai at Wake Forest. If you are off campus, download VPN in order to access scite.ai using IP authentication.
Connected Papers:
- Connected Papers uses a similarity matrix centered around co-citation and bibliographic coupling to find relevant papers based off of a single article.
- Example using Connected Papers with the article "Archimedes life works and machines"
Inciteful:
- Inciteful connects citation research to bibliographic coupling and co-citations to visualize connections between research and recommend similar articles.
- Example using Inciteful with the article "Archimedes life works and machines"
elicit.org:
- You will need to create an account.
- Ask any question to retrieve scholarly research and snippets
- Export the results to a BIB file and import into Research Rabbit
Research Rabbit:
- You will need to create an account.
- Import the BIB file from elicit.org
- Review the results and add papers to fine tune the results
- NOTE: Using this method, you can view the title and abstract/overview to select articles, books, and other resources to find, read, and/or request via Interlibrary Loan
Google Books:
- Search for books on your pre-modern engineer
- Example: archimedes life and times

Email Me

Contact:

ZSR Library, Room 457B

(336)758-1927

Subjects: Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, Mathematics, Physics, Science & Mathematics - General, Statistics