It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
FYS The Hallowed Halls of the Academy: A History of the University and College Life: Civil Rights movement
Vertical files consist of newspaper clippings, published and unpublished documents, and other materials about specific subjects related to WFU history. This collection has not been digitized; link leads to the finding aid for the print collection.
Irving Carlyle was a WFU alum (1917) and lawyer who was active in NC politics. He served on the WFU Board of Trustees 1946-1962, including five terms as Chair. His papers include materials on WFU's relationship with the Baptist State Convention and on integration issues in NC schools. Collection has not been digitized; link leads to finding aid for the print collection.
Mac Bryan was a WFU alum and a professor in the Religion Department. He was active in the civil rights movement and the anti-war movement. His papers include clippings and documentation of Winston-Salem sit-ins and other political activity. Collection has not been digitized; link leads to finding aid for print collection.
Dr. Herman Eure joined the WFU Biology department in 1971 as the university's first full-time African-American faculty member. He describes his career at WFU and his undergrad involvement with the civil rights movement. Includes audio and transcript.
Griffith received his B.A. from WFU in 1965 and held a variety of administrative position at the university. His interview includes discussion of his undergraduate experience of academics, social activities, and the impact of the football team on integration. Audio only; no transcript.
On Feb. 23, 1960, a group of students from Winston-Salem State University were joined by students from Wake Forest University to protest segregated lunch counters in Winston-Salem. This audio recording features an interview with William "Bill" Stevens on November 17, 1999. He talks about his involvement with the sit-in as a student of Wake Forest University. Audio only; no transcript.
Beth Norbrey Hopkins graduated from WFU in 1973 and was the school's first Black homecoming queen. She became a lawyer and later held various positions in the WFU administration, History department, and School of Law. Interview includes description of her arrival at WFU and her core group of African-American friends who supported each other during their undergraduate years. Audio and transcript.