It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WRI 111: On Writing (Boyle - Fall 2022): Home
For students in WRI111: On Writing
This research guide is designed for students doing research for their argumentative essay for WRI 111. If you run into any obstacles, don't hesitate to book a research session. ~ Rosalind Tedford
Before getting started with you research, it is a good idea to start with some background and context to the issues you are investigating. The sources below will help you get to that information quickly.
SIRS Issues Researcher provides background and current analysis necessary for research and understanding of 360+ current and pervasive Leading Issues. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between on the most researched and debated social issues. Coverage: Details not available
Credo Reference includes over 650 titles with particular emphasis on subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, and reference handbooks. Also included are over 1,100 short reference videos, nearly 450,000 high-resolution art images, photographs and maps across all subject areas.
Overviews of research and trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities. WFU access includes the following subject collections: Asian Studies; Communication, Journalism, Media & Culture; Environment & Sustainability; Law; Philosophy; Politics; Religion; Security Studies; and Sociology.
Use our main library search interface Primo to locate books and other materials in Reynolds Library. When you search from the ZSR Library homepage, you will be taken to a search screen where books are in the center box on the top row. You can see all books from the search by clicking the total number of results in the top of the box, or the More Books link at the bottom. To find books on US Policy Issues, search on the policy and "United States":
"Gun Control" "United States"
Economic Regulation United States
Racial Profiling United States
"Same Sex Marriage" 'United States"
Legalization marijuana United States
The databases below are the ones most frequently used by students doing political science research. The list starts with the politics-specific databases but also lists the many databases we have in related disciplines that often contain relevant sources. Politics is a very interdisciplinary thing, so looking at other databases is often very useful!
Databases for General International Politics and Government
This link cross searches ProQuest Political Science Database, PAIS Index, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Users can access hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals with full-text of many core titles. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources. Coverage: 1985-
Historical Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for journal articles, books, and dissertations covering the history of the world from 1450-- except the U.S. and Canada. For similar coverage of the U.S. and Canada, use America History and Life. Coverage: 1954-
Databases for International Military and Security Issues
The Military Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
A compendium of materials available for scholarly research in the area of Homeland Security. The digital library collection is focused on strategy and policy in the various subject areas of Homeland Security Research. Sources of information include governmental departments and agencies, academic institutions, think tanks, conference sites, non-governmental organizations, institutes and organizations, and other entities. Coverage: Details not available
Covers women s issues from 190 countries, with information available in full-text. Disciplines include sociology, psychology, health, education, business administration and political science. Coverage: 1992-