Skip to Main Content

HST 268 & 269: African History to 1870 and The Colonial Encounter in Africa

Dr. Plageman

Article Databases

The databases below will help you locate scholarly journal, magazine, and newspaper articles related to your topic. Articles can serve as secondary or primary sources, depending on when they were written. You can also use articles to identify potential primary sources. Visit the World History subject page for more options. To locate a specific journal/magazine/newspaper, use Find a Journal. Still not finding what you need? Ask me! 

GENERAL HISTORY & MULTIDISCIPLINARY DATABASES 

DISCIPLINARY DATABASES 

These databases contain material from a particular discipline, such as law, politics and international affairs, sociology, and music. Not seeing what you need? There are many more disciplinary resources available through Find a Database

Newspaper & Magazine Databases

Related Video Tutorials

Tips for Searching Article Databases

The databases listed here may help you find and get access to newspaper articles, magazines articles, and scholarly journal articles about your topic. But how do you get started? 

1. Choose keywords that describe your topic and consider how different authors might describe the same topic. For example: (women OR gender) AND patriarch* AND "east Africa" 

2. Use the tools provided by the database to narrow your search by date, document type, and more.

3. Read the abstract or summary of the article to decide if it is relevant to your topic. 

4. If the article is relevant, make sure to save it! ZSR recommends saving it to Zotero (which will also help you cite it later in your paper!). You can also email it to yourself or copy the permalink (NOT the link in the browser bar!). 

Need help? Ask a librarian! 

Multimedia

Need help? Chat with us