Skip to main content

HST 269: The Colonial Encounter in Africa : Reference Sources

Spring 2020

Gathering Background Information

Use the background sources here, as well as other sources you might encounter, to gather information about your topic and consider what you still need to know before you start researching.  You can use this information in searching for primary sources.

- Dates              - Places           - Names of persons involved          - Names of organizations, government agencies, etc.          - Names of particular laws or events 

Background sources can also help you understand the larger historical context, so that you can determine what primary sources might be most useful or how a particular primary source fits into what was happening at that time. 

Reference Sources

ONLINE REFERENCE COLLECTIONS 

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

REFERENCE BOOKS (PRINT AND ONLINE)

  • Encyclopedia of African History (E-Book) 
  • A History of Modern Africa 1800 to the Present (2020 edition) (E-Book)
  • Encyclopedia of Twentieth Century African History (E-Book)
  • African History: A Very Short Introduction (DT20 .P37 2007)
  • Encyclopedia of Africa (E-Book)
  • New Encyclopedia of Africa (E-Book)
  • African States and Rulers: An Encyclopedia of Native, Colonial, and Independent States and Rulers Past and Present (DT31 .S786 1989)
  • Encyclopedia of Islam (E-Book)
  • Historical Atlas of Islam (E-Book)
  • Encyclopedia of Precolonial Africa: Archaeology, History, Languages, Cultures, and Environments (DT2 .E53 1997)
  • Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism since 1450 (E-Book)
  • African Historical Dictionaries
  • British Travel Writers, 1837-1875 (Ref PS221 D5 vol. 166)
  • British Travel Writers, 1876-1909 (Ref PS221 D5 vol. 174)
  • British Travel Writers, 1910-1939 (Ref PS221 D5 vol. 195)
  • British Travel Writers, 1940-1997 (Ref PS221 D5 vol. 204) 

STATISTICS 

Librarian

Kathy Shields's picture
Kathy Shields
Contact:
shielddk@wfu.edu
453 ZSR Library
336.758.5124
Website
Need help? Chat with us