Skip to main content

HMN 388: Research Guide 2017: Research Resources

Research guide for students in the study abroad program at the Flow House in Vienna Austria, 2017

Background Sources

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias and dictionaries (terms often used interchangeably) provide an overview of a given subject, introduce basic concepts, summarize key issues, define terminology, and cite factual information. The articles, written by experts in the field, may also refer to other entries on related topics, and frequently include brief bibliographies to lead the researcher to other resources.  The following online resources are available from the "Find a Database" page under "Reference Sources" > Encyclopedias.

In order to access computer resources from overseas, you will need to use VPN (Virtual Private Network connection).

Artemis Literary Sources (online resource)
Provides biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors, combining the full-text content of Dictionary of LIterary Biography, Contemporary Authors, and the Gale Literary Criticism series.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (online resource)
Full-text collection of reference books covering numerous subject areas, including literature, the arts, and history.  Reference works can be searched simultaneously or individually.

Oxford Art Online (online resource)
Full-text (and image) encyclopedia of art and culture, covering all of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, architecture, drawing, printmaking, and the decorative arts) from the world's civilizations  (Asian, African, European, the Americas, and the Pacific).

Oxford Music Online (online resource)
Full text encyclopedia covering all aspects of music worldwide, including composers, performers, terminology,  genres and forms, orchestras, institutions, and places with significant musical traditions.

Oxford Reference Online
Full-text collection of reference books on broad range of subjects; may be searched individually or all together.

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Flow Haus ML100 N48 1995 (print)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Ellen Daugman's picture
Ellen Daugman
Contact:
ZSR Library 457C
336.758.1927