Research Guides: Library Orientation for Online Students: How do I find sources?

Library Research Online

For many online students, finding and using scholarly sources in their papers is one of the more difficult things to do. Most of the scholarly content that you'll need for your papers and research projects costs significant amounts of money to subscribe to, and it is simply not available through a standard Google search. Luckily, the library provides access to you and to all WFU students. The resources shared below will help you find the best sources for your work.

The library maintains a number of helpful research guides in many disciplines. These guides contain contact information for that discipline's subject specialist librarian, links to helpful tools and databases, and often links to other helpful resources, like sources for statistics and other research.

Articles in Scholarly Journals

To find articles in scholarly journals, start by going to the Find a Database page and use "Find by Subject." Your best bets for Counseling include PsycINFO and ERIC.

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The premiere Psychology journal database. Provides comprehensive coverage for the field of psychology. Contains abstracts from articles, books, book chapters, journals, dissertations, and other sources. PsycINFO Quick Reference Guide
ERIC (via EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
ERIC searches an enormous collections of journals, book chapters and other research in education and related fields.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides access to MEDLINE, a database of citations covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences.
ProQuest Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of topics, including behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial, and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics. Includes journals and magazines, as well as dissertations, grey literature, and more.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
indexes over 1,700 journals in the social sciences including anthropology, communications, history, law, management, political science, psychology, sociology, and women's studies. It provides bibliographic data, author abstracts, and cited references. Social Sciences Citation Index is most useful for searching for articles that cite a known author or work. Citation searching also allows a researcher to use a given work as a subject term in order to identify more recent articles about the same topic.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, this database includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues related to traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations.

Video Resources

Additional streaming video resources are available through Find a Database.

Best Bets

Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Includes filmed footage of actual, re-enacted, and scripted therapy sessions; videos of experts in particular courses of therapy advising other therapists; lectures; and documentaries. Many videos include downloadable supplementary materials.
Kanopy Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a distributor of educational videos, documentaries, and feature films. For Counseling, see Psychology
SAGE Video Counseling & Psychotherapy This link opens in a new window
This collection of 136 hours and 420 videos draws upon a vast network of SAGE’s authors and editors. It includes many tutorials, such as Mick Cooper on Empathy and Listening, multiple interviews with leading experts such as Jerrold Lee Shapiro on Existential Psychotherapy and John McLeod on Evidence-Based Practice, along with many more films addressing teaching, learning and practitioner issues.
Films on Demand - Master Academic Package This link opens in a new window
Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. See films in Counseling & Social Work

Symptom Media Film Library
Symptom Media is a robust online resource for mental health education and training. WFU provides access to over 1,000 unique, concise training tools including Symptom Media’s Assessment Tools, DSM-5-TR, ICD 10 & Teletherapy video case studies, and simulation activities, used to practice clinical skills by watching a video without the diagnosis listed and then complete assignments such as a Treatment plan or Mental Status Exam.

More video and multimedia resources

JoVE Essentials of Behavioral Science This link opens in a new window
This collection is sub-divided on the basis of different aspects of human behavior such as learning, memory, cognition, movement, addiction and behavioral disorders. Videos discuss neurobiology of behavior and concepts behind prominent techniques.
JoVE Essentials of Neuroscience This link opens in a new window
Videos offer a glimpse of neuroscience at the professional level, through an exploration of five major branches of study: neurophysiology, neuroanatomy, cell & molecular neuroscience, behavioral neuroscience, and developmental neuroscience. The collection describes current and prominent methods in nervous sytem function research.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
Audio and video recordings of original psychological experiments (when existent) and associated primary-source documents. Includes exclusive and hard-to-find materials such as notes from experiment participants, journal articles, books, field notes, letters penned by the lead psychologist, videos of modern-day replications, and modifications to the original experiments.
SAGE Video Psychology This link opens in a new window
This collection features videos of current professional psychologists in action. Or, venture back to the field’s beginnings via footage of John B. Watson or Muzafer Sherif’s early experiments.

Personalized Help

Email

Need some help? Email us.

Call

Call (336) 758-5475 during reference hours.

Text

Got a quick question? Text us!
(336) 313-9774

Meet

Request a Personal Research Session with a reference librarian.

ZSR Library

Library Orientation for Online Students