Skip to main content

North Carolina Baptist Historical Collection: Home

The North Carolina Baptist Historical Collection documents the history of North Carolina Baptist churches, institutions, and individuals. We have over 16,000 books, periodicals, association annuals, church records, association minutes and vertical files.

News

LSTA Grant Awarded:

Special Collections & Archives (Wake Forest University) recently received an LSTA EZ Digitization Grant which will digitize archival material that is part of the North Carolina Baptist Historical Collection. Nearly 100 linear ft. of original archival records (dating back to the 18th century) belonging to 120 churches throughout North Carolina will be made available as part of the Z. Smith Reynolds Library’s online Baptist Collection.

LSTA funds awarded by the State Library of North Carolina are made possible through funding from the federal Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act as administered by the State Library of North Carolina, a division of the Department of Cultural Resources.

NC Baptist Historical Collection

The North Carolina Baptist Historical Collection (also known as the Ethel Taylor Crittenden Collection in Baptist History) documents the history of North Carolina Baptist churches, institutions, and individuals. The collection contains materials on Southern, Missionary, Primitive, African-American, Union, and Alliance of Baptist churches. These materials include over 16,000 books, periodicals, association annuals and other printed materials; church records; association minutes; and church vertical files. In addition, there are more than 1000 biographical folders containing information on and photographs of Baptist pastors and Wake Forest alumni.

The collection serves as a repository for records from North Carolina Baptist churches and institutions. See our church records page for more information about these collections. The NCBHC is also the repository for the Alliance of Baptists and the Woman’s Missionary Union of North Carolina archives.

 

Subject Guide

Tanya Zanish-Belcher
Contact:
Director and University Archivist
Liaison-Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Special Collections & Archives
Rm. 625, PO Box 7777
Z. Smith Reynolds Library
Winston-Salem, NC
27109
336-758-5755
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact